The University System of Georgia

The University System of Georgia includes all state operated institutions of higher education in Georgia – four research university, two regional universities, thirteen state universities, four state colleges, twelve two-year colleges, an independent research unit, and a university center. These thirty-six public institutions are located throughout the state.

An eighteen-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the University System which has been in operation since 1931. Appointments of Board members – five from the state at large and one from each of the state's thirteen congressional districts – are made by the Governor subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The regular term of Board members is seven years.

The Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson, and other officers of the Board are elected by the members of the Board. The Chancellor, who is not a member of the Board, is the chief executive officer of the Board and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through the three major components: Instruction, Public Service/Continuing Education, and Research.

Instruction consists of programs of study leading toward degrees ranging from certificates to associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level. Requirements for admission of students to instructional programs at each institution are determined pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents by the institution. The Board establishes minimum academic standards and leaves to each institution to the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed in all cases to the institutions.

Public Service/Continuing Education consists of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of college-degree-credit courses. The non-degree activities cover a large number of areas of interest and are of several types, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services. Non-degree Public Service/Continuing Education is conducted by all institutions. Typical college-degree-credit Public Service/Continuing Education courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

Research encompasses investigations conducted primarily for discovery and application of knowledge. These investigations include clearly defined projects in some cases, non-programmatic activities in other cases. They are conducted on campus and at many off-campus locations. Investigations cover a large number and a large variety of matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general societal needs. Most of the research is conducted through the universities; however, some of it is conducted through several of the state universities.

The policies of the Board of Regents for the government management and control of the University System and the administrative actions of the Chancellor provide autonomy of higher degree for each institution. The executive head of each institution is the President whose election is recommended by the Chancellor and approved by the Board.

The University System Advisory Council with 38 committees engenders continual System-wide dialogue on major academic and administrative matters of all types. It also makes recommendations to the Chancellor for transmittal to the Board of Regents as appropriate regarding academic and administrative aspects of operation of the System. The Advisory Council consists of the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor, and all Presidents as voting members. It also includes other officials and staff members of the institutions as non-voting members. The Advisory Council's 23 academic committees and 15 administrative committees are made up of

representatives from the institutions. The committees dealing with matters of University Systemwide application include typically at least one member from each institution.

Institutions of the University System of Georgia

Research Universities

University of Georgia, Athens Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta Georgia State University, Atlanta Medical College of Georgia, Augusta

Regional Universities

Georgia Southern University, Statesboro Valdosta State University, Valdosta

State Universities

Albany State University Armstrong Atlantic State University Augusta State University Clayton State University Columbus State University Fort Valley State University Georgia College & State University Kennesaw State University North Georgia College & State University Savannah State University Southern Polytechnic state University University of West Georgia

State Colleges

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College Dalton State College Gainesville State College Georgia Gwinnett College Gordon College Macon State College Middle Georgia College

Two-Year Colleges

Atlanta Metropolitan College Bainbridge College Coastal Georgia Community College Darton College East Georgia College Georgia Highlands College Georgia Perimeter College South Georgia College Waycross College

Independent Research Unit Skidaway Institute of Oceanography